Binocular Viewer (HDR) – Balboa Pier (Newport Beach)


I went to Balboa Peninsula in Newport Beach today and found a lovely Binocular Viewer on the Balboa Pier. I liked its red color with the metal on its face. I was lazy to setup the tripod to do exposure bracketing for HDR so I hopped the one shot can still produce good HDR, it turned out beautiful for one shot HDR. I did little adjustments in Photomatix then post processing in PS elements. I used a wide angle lens for the first two and 35mm for the third one.

Binocular Viewer #1 - Balboa Pier (Newport Beach)

Binocular Viewer #1 - Balboa Pier (Newport Beach)

Binocular Viewer #2 - Balboa Pier (Newport Beach)

Binocular Viewer #2 - Balboa Pier (Newport Beach)

Binocular Viewer #3 - Balboa Pier (Newport Beach)

Binocular Viewer #3 - Balboa Pier (Newport Beach)

8 comments

      1. Cool. A lot of my HDR’s from my Nikon are from a single exposure. I just save multiple versions at different exposures before I put it into HDREfex or Photomatix.

      2. I take multiple exposures in most of the cases except few. taking multiple exposures capture the true dynamic range. Single exposure can work but in reality it does not change the dynamic range because the brightness and color information is still the same. But sometimes that is not noticeable if there is no much difference between high and low brightness contrast in the captured scene.

Leave a Reply

