Balboa Island – Culture captured through my 35mm Lens


This post is a continue for the last post I posted about Balboa Island, the last one I used my iPhone only and in this one I’m using my Nikon D60 with the beautiful 35mm F1.8 lens. I tried to capture places, people, nature, signs, shops, activities and other things and life moments to reflect a typical weekend day in balboa island to show how it feels like to be in balboa island. I hope my pictures achieved that goal and let the viewer transport visually to the island without being there physically.

Recently I’m getting excited and having so much passion into black and white (or more accurately mono tones photography) so in some pictures I used black and white converter in PS elements then fine tuning using color levels to get different mono colors and finally using the color curves to adjust contrast. In some pictures I used the diffuse glow distort filter to give the retro effect of old film cameras.

below are the ones I liked the most then followed by the full set.

Public Pier - Balboa Island

Public Pier - Balboa Island

Waiting For Checkout - Balboa Island

Waiting For Checkout - Balboa Island

Biking - Balboa Island

Biking - Balboa Island

Below are the full set, click on any image to view the gallery in full screen.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

